top of page


Council of Scholars


Sam Batkins, JD

Director of Regulatory Policy (fmr.) – American Action Forum

Dean Clancy, MA

Vice President of Policy – FreedomWorks (2010-14)


Harold R. DeMoss, Jr.

Senior Federal Judge (ret.)

US Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals

Nicholas C. Dranias, JD

Constitutional Policy Director (fmr.) - Goldwater Institute


John C. Eastman, JD, PhD

Henry Salvatori Professor of Law & Community Service at Chapman University Fowler School of Law

Jake Jacobs, PhD

Liberty Proclamation Education

Kevin Gutzman, JD, PhD

NY Times Best Selling Author

Chairman & Professor, History Department –

Western Connecticut State University

Rick Masters, JD*

General Counsel – Interstate Commission for Adult Offender Supervision

General Counsel (fmr.) – Council of State Governments

Steve Moore, MA

National Spokesman

William "Bill" Norton

Visiting Scholar – Bellevue University

Instructor – Center for Self Governance

National Support Team Constitutional Coordinator (fmr.) – Tea Party Patriots

Lawrence Reed, PhD, MA

President  Foundation for Economic Education

Ben Scafidi, PhD

Professor of Economics  Kennesaw State University

Byron Schlomach, PhD

Director of State Policy - 1889 Institute

Director of the Center for Economic Prosperity –Goldwater Institute (2007-15)

Ilya Shapiro, JD

Senior Fellow, Cato Institute & Editor-in-Chief, Cato Supreme Court Review – Cato Institute

Stephen Slivinski, MA

Senior Research Fellow,

Center for the Study of Economic Liberty –

Arizona State University

Senior Economist – Goldwater Institute (2009-14)

Krystal Slivinski, MA

Assistant Professor of Economics – 

Grand Canyon University

Baker Spring, MA

Fellow – US Senate, Committee on the Budget (2014)

Research Fellow – Hillsdale College (2014)

F.M. Kirby Research Fellow in National Security Policy –

Heritage Foundation (1989-2013)

*Serving in a peer review capacity only; not endorsing the public policy merits of any Compact for America project personally or on behalf of any other organization.

Compact for America Educational Foundation, Inc. Board


Thomas C. Patterson, MD


Immediate Past Chairman, Goldwater Institute


Chip DeMoss, CPA


Managing Director, Tanglewood Capitol Partners, LLC

Interim Search Committee (Patterson, DeMoss, Flores)



Kevin Gutzman, JD, PhD

Member Emeritus


Lawrence Reed, PhD, MA

Member Emeritus


Compact for America Educational Foundation, Inc. Management and Associates


Office of the President


Chip DeMoss, CPA

Chief Executive Officer/Treasurer


John Flores

Secretary/Executive Vice President of Development


Sen. Curtis Olafson (ND-ret.)

Vice President of State Alliances

Greg Brooks

Director of Communications


Daniel Fortune

Social Media Manager

Advisory Council

Lt. Col. Stuart Jolly

Command Solutions LLC

What is Compact for America Educational Foundation, Inc.?

Compact for America Educational Foundation, Inc. (the “Educational Foundation”) is a not-for-profit tax-exempt educational organization formed under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code and is recognized as such by the Internal Revenue Service pursuant to the IRS determination letter dated October 1, 2014.  Additionally, the Educational Foundation was retained to serve as the Compact Administrator for the Compact for a Balanced Budget by the Compact for a Balanced Budget Commission on January 13, 2015 pursuant to a technical services agreement. The only Compact for America entity authorized to influence legislation either directly or by way of grassroots calls to action without regard to said technical advisory services contract is Compact for America, Inc. ("Compact for America Action"), which is a not-for-profit tax-exempt social welfare organization under section 501(c)(4) of the Internal Revenue Code and recognized as such by the Internal Revenue Service. The Educational Foundation is making every effort to ensure its operations are not confused with those of Compact for America Action.

bottom of page